Down Syndrome and the NDIS: Why the Diagnosis Alone Is Not Enough

Down Syndrome and the NDIS: Why the Diagnosis Alone Is Not Enough
  • Home
  • /
  • Blog
  • /
  • Down Syndrome and the NDIS: Why the Diagnosis Alone Is Not Enough

Down syndrome and the NDIS: why the diagnosis alone is not enough

Here is a sentence you will find on a lot of Australian disability provider websites: “Down syndrome is a List A condition, so eligibility for the NDIS is automatic.”

It isn’t, and it isn’t.

Down syndrome is on List B. It has always been on List B. The current version of the NDIA’s Applying to the NDIS operational guideline, updated in August 2026, names Down syndrome under List B’s entry for “chromosomal abnormalities resulting in permanent impairment and not specified on List A.” List A names Patau syndrome and Edwards syndrome among its genetic conditions. It does not name Down syndrome.

That distinction is not pedantry. It changes what an access request has to prove, what evidence it needs to carry, and why some families sail through while others — with a child who looks, to them, essentially identical — get knocked back and have to fight. This guide explains the difference and what to do about it.

A note on what this is not. We have separate guides on NDIS eligibility generally and on what to do if you are found ineligible. This one is specifically about the Down syndrome pathway, because the Down syndrome pathway has a quirk in it that the general guides do not cover.

What List A and List B actually do

Both lists sit inside the NDIA’s access guidance. Neither is law — the law is sections 24 and 25 of the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013. The lists are administrative shortcuts the agency uses to speed up decisions.

They do different jobs.

List A is “conditions that are likely to meet the disability requirements.” If you provide evidence of a List A diagnosis, the NDIA will likely decide that you meet the whole disability test in section 24 — permanence and substantially reduced functional capacity and likely lifetime need for support. In practice a List A diagnosis is close to a fast pass, which is why the thresholds on it are set high: intellectual disability assessed as moderate, severe or profound; autism at DSM-5 Level 2 or 3; cerebral palsy at GMFCS Level 3, 4 or 5.

List B is “conditions that are likely to result in permanent impairment.” That is a much narrower finding. If you provide evidence of a List B diagnosis, the NDIA will likely accept that the impairment is permanent — which removes one argument, and only one. You still have to establish everything else: substantially reduced functional capacity in one or more of the six prescribed domains, the effect on social and economic participation, and the likelihood that you will need NDIS supports for life.

So the practical difference for a family with Down syndrome is this. Nobody is going to argue with you about whether Down syndrome is permanent. That is settled the moment you attach the karyotype. What the agency will look at closely is the functional evidence — and if your access request is a karyotype, a paediatrician’s letter saying “this child has trisomy 21” and not much else, you are likely to get a request for more information or a refusal.

The route through List A that does exist

There is a path onto List A for many people with Down syndrome, and it is worth knowing about because it is the strongest possible access request.

List A’s first entry is intellectual disability assessed as moderate, severe or profound. Every person with Down syndrome has some degree of intellectual disability. If a psychologist has formally assessed that disability as moderate, severe or profound, using a recognised instrument and current DSM criteria, then the person qualifies on List A in their own right — not because of Down syndrome, but because of the assessed intellectual disability.

That is the single most useful thing in this guide. If you are putting together an access request for a child or adult with Down syndrome and the intellectual disability has been formally assessed in that range, lead with it. Attach the assessment. The diagnosis of Down syndrome then becomes supporting context rather than the load-bearing element.

The catch is that a lot of people with Down syndrome have never had a formal severity-graded intellectual disability assessment. Paediatric records often say “global developmental delay” or “intellectual disability” without a severity band, because for clinical purposes the band rarely changes management. For NDIS purposes it changes everything. If you do not have one, a cognitive and adaptive functioning assessment from a clinical or educational psychologist is usually the highest-value single document you can obtain.

Mild intellectual disability, for completeness, does not get you onto List A. It still gets you onto List B via the Down syndrome entry, and the access request then stands or falls on functional evidence.

The age rules, and the under-9 pathway

Two gates sit in front of everything else.

You must be under 65 to enter the scheme. There is no exception. A person who turns 65 without ever having applied cannot join, and goes to the aged care system instead. For adults with Down syndrome this matters less than it sounds — almost everyone is in the scheme decades earlier — but it matters enormously for the small number of people who were never assessed, often because they have spent their lives supported entirely by family. If there is an adult with Down syndrome in your family who has never been through the NDIS and is in their late fifties or sixties, that is an urgent piece of administration, not a someday job.

Children under 9 go through the early childhood approach. They do not need to prove the full section 24 disability test. A child under 6 with developmental delay can access early connections and supports without a diagnosis at all. For a child with Down syndrome this is usually the smoothest entry point in the entire scheme: an early childhood partner can start supports quickly, and the formal access decision can follow.

The transition point to watch is the one at the other end of that pathway. Somewhere between 6 and 9, a child moves from the early childhood approach to the standard pathway, and the standard pathway applies the full section 24 test. Families who entered easily as toddlers are sometimes blindsided at this point by a request for evidence they have never had to produce. The fix is to get the functional assessments done before the transition, not during it.

Where foundational supports sit

The National Agreement on foundational supports commenced on 2 February 2026 and runs to 2031, and it has created a new boundary that families keep asking about.

Thriving Kids, the targeted stream within it, is aimed at children up to 8 with developmental delay or autism with low to moderate support needs — children who, under the new design, will be supported outside the NDIS, with the first state-delivered services starting 1 October 2026 and full rollout by 1 January 2028. No diagnosis is required to access it.

The question we get is whether children with Down syndrome are being moved out of the NDIS into Thriving Kids. For the great majority, no. The stream is defined by level of need, and Down syndrome reliably produces more than low-to-moderate support needs across multiple domains. Children already in the NDIS are to be assessed before 1 January 2028 rather than simply transferred. That said, the design is new, the implementation is state by state, and a family with a young child with Down syndrome should be documenting support needs carefully through this period rather than assuming the diagnosis protects them. Our guide to Thriving Kids and foundational supports goes through the detail.

The six functional domains, and what the evidence has to show

Section 24 requires substantially reduced functional capacity in at least one of six areas:

  • mobility
  • communication
  • social interaction
  • learning
  • self-care
  • self-management

For a person with Down syndrome, the two that almost always carry the case are communication and learning, with self-management close behind and frequently under-documented. Mobility is variable. Self-care depends heavily on age and on how much independence has been built.

What “substantially reduced” means in practice is that the person cannot perform the activity, or cannot do it without assistance, or cannot do it without assistive technology or home modifications, or can only do it with significantly more time and effort than a person without the impairment.

That last limb is the one families undersell. A 24-year-old who can make his own lunch — but takes 45 minutes, needs the steps written out in pictures, and will eat nothing but toast for a fortnight if nobody intervenes — has substantially reduced functional capacity in self-care, and the access request should say so in exactly those terms. “Independent with prompting” is a phrase that has cost Australian families a great deal of funding. It reads to an assessor as independent.

What good evidence looks like

A strong Down syndrome access request usually contains some combination of the following. It does not need all of them.

Document What it establishes Who writes it
Karyotype or genetic report The diagnosis and therefore permanence via List B Pathology, usually already on file
Cognitive and adaptive assessment with severity band Intellectual disability, potentially List A Clinical or educational psychologist
Speech pathology report Communication domain, receptive and expressive levels, AAC needs Speech pathologist
Occupational therapy functional assessment Self-care, self-management, home environment, assistive technology Occupational therapist
Physiotherapy report where relevant Mobility, hypotonia, endurance, falls Physiotherapist
GP or paediatrician summary Health conditions, screening history, treatment burden GP or paediatrician
School reports or an individual education plan Learning domain, support actually provided School
A day-in-the-life account Cumulative support burden across a real 24 hours Family or the person themselves

That last row is the one most often skipped and the one that most often tips a decision. An assessor reading six clinical reports gets six specialist slices. A clearly written account of a real Tuesday — who woke the person, what prompting was needed at each step, what happened when the bus was cancelled, how long the evening routine took, who checked the medication, what the night was like — makes the aggregate burden visible in a way no single report does.

Write it in minutes and specifics. Not “needs support with personal care” but “needs verbal prompting at four points during showering and physical assistance to wash hair; takes 35 minutes with support, does not complete it without.”

Reassessment, and the 2026 funding changes

A plan does not last forever, and 2026 and 2027 bring real changes that affect people with Down syndrome directly.

The budget reductions announced for 2026 cut Support Coordination and Capacity Building allocations: Specialist Support Coordination and Capacity Building Choice and Control allocations by up to 50%, and Capacity Building Daily Activities by around 10%. These apply from 1 October 2026 for new and reassessed plans, and from 1 February 2027 on renewal. There is a list of protected supports that are not affected.

Two other changes to put in the diary. From 1 December 2026 the claim window shortens dramatically — providers will have 90 days to claim for a service, down from two years. If you self-manage or part-self-manage, that changes your bookkeeping. And from 1 January 2027 unregistered providers delivering support coordination face a 10% rate reduction and de-indexation.

For a person with Down syndrome whose plan leans on support coordination and capacity building — which describes a great many of them, since the Down syndrome cohort tends to be funded for skill development rather than nursing — these are not trivial adjustments. The practical response is to use reassessment preparation properly: document what the capacity building funding has actually achieved, because outcomes are the argument against a cut, and get any new functional assessments done before the reassessment rather than after the decision.

If the answer is no

The pathway is specific and the clocks are short.

An internal review under section 100 must be requested within 3 months of the decision. The NDIA then has 90 days to decide. Most refused Down syndrome access requests that we see are fixed at this stage, because the problem was almost always missing functional evidence rather than a genuine dispute about eligibility. Use the three months to get the assessment you did not have.

If internal review fails, the next step is the Administrative Review Tribunal, which replaced the AAT on 14 October 2024. You have 28 days from the internal review decision. There is no application fee for NDIS matters, and the Commonwealth funds free NDIS Appeals advocacy — you do not need a lawyer and you should not pay for one before you have contacted an NDIS Appeals provider through your local disability advocacy service.

The large majority of ART matters resolve before hearing. The agency reviews the file properly when an appeal is lodged, and often that is the first time anybody has read it as a whole.

What a Down syndrome plan usually needs to contain

This is not prescriptive — plans are individual — but after enough of them you notice the gaps that recur.

Communication support that is actually funded. Speech pathology at the 2026–27 price limit of $193.99 per hour, and critically, funding for the non-face-to-face work. Programming a communication device, writing a communication passport, training the support team: these are claimable against the _NF non-face-to-face item, and a plan with no allowance for them produces a speech pathologist who assesses and never implements.

An occupational therapy allowance that isn’t token. $193.99 per hour, same as speech. One assessment a year is not a therapy program.

Capacity building that names a skill, not a service. “Build independent travel on the 523 bus route” is a goal that can be worked on and evidenced. “Improve independence” is not, and it is the kind of wording that gets cut.

Health coordination. People with Down syndrome carry a long screening list — thyroid, cardiac, hearing, vision, coeliac, sleep apnoea, dementia surveillance from 40. Somebody has to actually book those appointments and get the person to them. That coordination work is legitimate plan content and it is routinely absent. Our health screening guide sets out what the schedule involves.

Dementia-aware planning from the early forties. This is the one almost nobody includes and almost everybody eventually needs. Alzheimer’s disease affects around 9% of adults with Down syndrome aged 45 to 50 and nearly a third of those aged 55 to 59. A plan for a 42-year-old should already contain a documented functional baseline, because without one there is nothing to compare against when things change. See Alzheimer’s disease and Down syndrome.

Housing that has been thought about before it is urgent. If the person lives with parents, the plan should contain the work of planning what comes next — provider research, trial stays, home modifications, an Individualised Living Options exploration. Supported independent living with Down syndrome goes through the options.

The thing that goes wrong most often

It is not refusals. It is plans that are technically adequate and functionally useless because they were built on an assumption of stability.

A person with Down syndrome at 25 and the same person at 45 can have genuinely different support needs — not because the Down syndrome changed, but because hypothyroidism went untreated for six years, or sleep apnoea destroyed their daytime function, or an undiagnosed regression event took their speech, or early dementia began. Each of those is a different problem with a different answer, and each presents initially as “he’s not doing as well as he was.”

Plans that treat Down syndrome as a fixed quantity do not have the flexibility to respond. Plans that build in review triggers — a documented baseline, an annual health assessment, a named person responsible for noticing change — do. That is the difference between a plan that works for five years and a plan that quietly stops fitting after eighteen months while everybody carries on using it.

General information only. NDIS pricing, eligibility rules and operational guidance change; check current sources or speak to your plan manager, support coordinator or GP about your own situation. Sources referenced in this guide: NDIA, Applying to the NDIS operational guideline (version dated 26 August 2026), including List A and List B; National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013, sections 24, 25 and 100; NDIS Pricing Arrangements and Price Limits 2026–27; Global Down Syndrome Foundation adult medical care guidelines as summarised in American Family Physician (2022).

Down Syndrome and the NDIS: Why the Diagnosis Alone Is Not Enough: common questions

List B. The current Applying to the NDIS operational guideline names Down syndrome under List B’s entry for chromosomal abnormalities resulting in permanent impairment and not specified on List A. A List B diagnosis means the NDIA will likely accept that the impairment is permanent, but you still have to establish substantially reduced functional capacity and a likely lifetime need for support. Many provider websites state that Down syndrome is on List A. They are wrong, and the mistake leads families to submit thin access requests.

No, though in practice the great majority of applications succeed. What is effectively settled is permanence. What still has to be shown is functional impact in at least one of the six domains — mobility, communication, social interaction, learning, self-care, self-management. Applications fail when they attach a diagnosis and nothing else.

Yes, via the intellectual disability entry, if the intellectual disability has been formally assessed as moderate, severe or profound using current DSM criteria. That is a stronger access request than the List B route, so if such an assessment exists, lead with it. If it does not, a cognitive and adaptive functioning assessment from a psychologist is usually the single highest-value document to obtain.

Somewhere between 6 and 9 the child moves to the standard pathway, which applies the full section 24 disability test. Families who entered easily as toddlers are sometimes asked at this point for functional evidence they have never had to produce. Get the speech pathology, occupational therapy and cognitive assessments done before the transition rather than scrambling during it.

Unlikely. Thriving Kids targets children up to 8 with developmental delay or autism with low to moderate support needs. Down syndrome reliably produces more than that across multiple domains. Children currently in the NDIS are to be assessed before 1 January 2028 rather than transferred automatically. Document support needs carefully through the transition period regardless.

Request an internal review under section 100 within 3 months; the NDIA must decide within 90 days. Use that window to get whatever functional assessment was missing, because that is usually the actual problem. If the internal review fails, you have 28 days to apply to the Administrative Review Tribunal, which replaced the AAT in October 2024. There is no fee, and free NDIS Appeals advocates are funded by the Commonwealth.

No. The age limit at entry is absolute. An existing participant who turns 65 keeps their plan, and it continues until they permanently enter residential aged care or start a permanent home care arrangement for the first time after 65. Someone who has never applied and is approaching 65 should apply now — this is the most time-critical administrative task in the entire Down syndrome NDIS picture.

Not if they are already an NDIS participant, and not on the basis of the diagnosis. Dementia diagnosed before 65 is younger onset dementia, which sits inside the NDIS rather than the aged care system. The plan should change to reflect the new support needs; the person does not change systems. The test is age at diagnosis, not the nature of the condition.

There is no standard amount, and published averages are misleading because they mix a 4-year-old with two hours of therapy a week and a 50-year-old in 24-hour supported accommodation. What drives the figure is living arrangement first, then support ratio, then therapy and capacity building. The most useful comparison is not to other people’s plans but to a properly costed roster of care for the arrangement you actually want.

NDIS registered provider

Start Your NDIS Journey With Us today.

Request a phone call

Call Us Now On

© Copyright 2026, All Rights Reserved.

Google Rating
5.0
Based on 13 reviews
js_loader